Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

Summer School on Experimental Quantum Computation

2018, Jun 10 -- Jun 21

Pol Forn-Díaz (BSC-CNS)

We live exciting times in the world of quantum information. The long-awaited scientific revolution has triggered in recent years a technological revolution, suddenly bringing quantum technologies in close proximity to our present time. The most powerful and societally transformative of all quantum technologies is quantum computation. Parallel progress in many experimental fields has motivated giant technological corporations to invest in quantum computing, an event which has caused a disruptive effect in the progress in these fields.

In the spirit of former summer schools in the Benasque Center for Science, we are organizing a summer school this year, right in the middle of this technological revolution. The school will consist of a set of lecturers representing the most technologically advanced areas of quantum computation. We will also cover modern theoretical techniques which are becoming available to use in near-scale, small-sized quantum processors.

We invite motivated graduate students to participate in the school and learn key experimental details from some of the experts in the areas of superconducting qubits, ion traps, nitrogen vacancy centers, phosphor donors in silicon, quantum dots in two-dimensional electron gases, and photonic chips. Besides the lectures, the school will include several tutorials in addition to a set of interactive activities.

Benasque is a beautiful village located in the Spanish Pyrenees, just at the bottom of their highest mountain (Pico de Aneto), with a wonderful countryside/hiking environment. The Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual (http://benasque.org/) is an international meeting infrastructure which provides excellent facilities and an agreeable atmosphere to allow the participants to interact with senior speakers and tutors and also to carry their work during the meeting. The lecture halls and the rooms for discussion sessions are located in the Centre. Computing and electronic communication facilities are available.

List of confirmed lecturers

José Ignacio Latorre (CQT Singapore, University of Barcelona, Barcelona Supercomputing Center): Theory of gate-based quantum computation
Rami Barends (Google): Superconducting qubits
Hendrik Bluhm (RWTH Aachen University and Research Centre Jülich): Quantum dots in 2DEGs
John Morton (University College London): Spin qubits in silicon
Alejandro Perdomo-Ortiz (Rigetti Computing): Theory of adiabatic quantum computation and quantum machine learning
Geoff Pryde (Griffith University): Photonic circuits
Philipp Schindler (University of Innsbruck): Ion traps


The full program can be checked here.

Call for participation

Abstract submission is closed.
Submission deadline: 01st June 2018

* Abstracts files should be in .doc or .docx format
* You have to be registered before submit an abstract.

Registration fee information

The registration fee for this conference is 200 eur.

Pay by bank transfer

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Remember that your registration is complete only after the payment is made.

* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.
* Please, send a confirmation by e-mail to info@benasque.org.
* Please pay all bank charges
* Include as a subject in the transfer '2018eqc Your_Surname'
* In the comments section include:
      Full name of the conference and your name.

Pay by credit card

Credit card online payments here.

* You have to be registered.
* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.

*Cancellation Policy*
A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date.
A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.

Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • logo CSIC
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


Our building

  • Future building