Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

Ultrafast Surface Dynamics 2022 (USD 12)

2022, May 22 -- May 27

J. Biegert (ICFO)
J. García de Abajo (ICFO)
M. Wolf (Fritz Haber Institute)

USD12 is devoted to the field of Ultrafast Dynamics. It focuses on ultrafast dynamical processes at surfaces and interfaces of solid materials, comprising electronic, vibrational, and magnetic dynamics on attosecond-to-picosecond timescales.

Covered Topics

    - Charge Dynamics and Energy Transfer at Interfaces and in Materials
    - Phase Transitions and Light-Matter Correlations
    - Ultrafast Spin Dynamics
    - Ultrafast Plasmonics and Nanooptics
    - Dynamics in Low-dimensional Materials
    - Novel Phenomena / Materials / Techniques

International Steering Committee

- Martin Aeschlimann (University Kaiserslautern)
- Uwe Bovensiepen (University of Duisburg-Essen)
- Pedro Echenique (University of the Basque Country, San Sebastian)
- Tony Heinz (Stanford University, Palo Alto)
- Ulrich Höfer (University of Marburg)
- Hrvoje Petek (University of Pittsburgh)
- Martin Weinelt (Freie Universität Berlin)
- Martin Wolf (Fritz-Haber Institute, Belin)
- Xiaoyang Zhu (Columbia University, New York)
- Jin Zhao (University of Science & Technology of China, Hefei)

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Martin Aeschlimann (University of Kaiserslautern)
Michael Bauer (University of Kiel)
Samuel Baulieu (Celia Bordeaux)
Tobias Boolakee (Friedrich-Alexander University, Erlangen)
Uwe Bovensiepen (University of Duisburg-Essen)
Giulio Cerullo (Politecnico di Milano)
Stefan Eisebitt (Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy, Berlin)
Peter Elliott (Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy, Berlin)
Ralph Ernstorfer (Technical University Berlin)
Manish Garg (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart)
Daria Gorelova (University of Hamburg)
Ulrich Höfer (University of Marburg)
Michael Horn von Hoegen (University of Duisburg-Essen)
Jan-Gerrit Horstmann (Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization, Göttingen)
Markus Huber (University of Regensburg)
Sarah King (University of Chicago)
Ermin Malic (University of Marburg)
Frank-J. Meyer zu Heringdorf (University of Duisburg-Essen)
Hrvoje Petek (University of Pittsburgh)
Markus Raschke (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Baerbel Rethfeld (University of Kaiserslautern)
Marcel Reutzel (University of Göttingen)
Martin Schultze (Graz University)
Michael Sentef (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg)
Themis Sidiropoulos (ICFO, Barcelona)
Bradley Siwick (McGill University)
Jonathan Sobota (SLAC National Accelerator Lab, Menlo Park)
Benjamin Stadtmueller (University of Mainz)
Zhipei Sun (Aalto University)
Martin Weinelt (Free University, Berlin)

Abstract Submission

Download abstract booklet HERE.

Abstract submission is closed.

    Abstract deadline: May 10
    Abstract selection: May 10


Practical information

Bus transportation for participants will be organized by the Center. In particular, there will be a bus connection to/from Barcelona/Benasque on the 22nd and 27th of May, respectively. The trip takes approximately 5 hours. Alternatively, the trip by car takes approximately 3 1/2 hours.

The Center can also be reached by public transportation, using buses that depart from Zaragoza's and Barcelona's high speed train stations.

If you prefer to drive, there are several car rental options at Barcelona airport.

The Center will assist in securing a number of affordable accommodation options, including hotels and short-term apartment rentals.


Registration fee information

The registration fee for this conference is:

Before May 22After May 22
Fee400 eur.450 eur.

Pay by bank transfer

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Remember that your registration is complete only after the payment is made.

* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.
* Please, send a confirmation by e-mail to info@benasque.org.
* Please pay all bank charges
* Include as a subject in the transfer '2022usd Your_Surname'
* In the comments section include:
      Full name of the conference and your name.

Pay by credit card

Credit card online payments here.

* You have to be registered.
* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.

*Cancellation Policy*
A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date.
A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.

Further Information.

The CCBPP has received financial support for the organization of scientific meetings from the following institutions:

  • Ministerio de ciencia, innovación y universidades
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • logo CSIC
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


Our building

  • Future building